World Association for Medical Law


Cécile M. Bensimon - Program Co-Chair

Cécile M. Bensimon earned her PhD from the Institute of Medical Science and Joint Centre for Bioethics at the University of Toronto. She is currently a consultant for Environment and Climate Change Canada, Chair of the Research Ethics Board (REB) at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) and Vice-Chair of the Pharmaceutical Advertising Advisory Board (PAAB). She was recently Director of Ethics and Professional Affairs at the Canadian Medical Association (CMA). Cécile has served as an ethics expert to inform international, national, and provincial pandemic preparedness and response plans by advising the World Health Organization, Public Health Agency of Canada, Public Health Ontario, Ottawa Public Health, and regulatory medical authorities during the H1N1 pandemic and/or COVID-19 pandemic.

She is the Governor for Canada on the World Association for Medical Law (WAML) Board of Governors, a member of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Committee on Ethics, and on the Editorial Board of the bilingual journal Canadian Journal of Bioethics and the journal Frontiers in Genetics. Her publications have appeared in the British Journal of Psychiatry, Journal of the American College of Surgeons, Canadian Journal of Anaesthesia, Journal of Bioethical Inquiry, Public Health Ethics, and Social Science and Medicine.

William "Bill" Hinnant - Program Co-Chair

Irehobhude O. Iyioha (Canada)–Committee Chair

Visiting Scholar in Philosophy, Harvard University

Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Victoria 

Full Professor, Adjunct, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry Dossetor Centre for Health Ethics, University of Alberta

Angela Cameron (Canada)

Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa

Visiting Scholar, Centre for Law, Gender and Sexuality, Faculty of Law, Kent University

Co-Editor, Canadian Journal of Women and the Law

Glenn Cohen (United States)

James A. Attwood and Leslie Williams Professor of Law

Deputy Dean

Faculty Director, Petrie-Flom Center for Health Law Policy, Biotechnology, and Bioethics

Harvard Law School

Mona Gupta (Canada)

Psychiatrist, Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal

Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Université de Montréal

Senior Editor, Journal Philosophy, Psychiatry and Psychology

Prof. Doutor André Pereira

Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Coimbra.

Vice-President of the Council of Ethics for Life Sciences

President of Direction of the Centre for Biomedical Law; President of the Institutional Review Board of AIBILI; Member of the Ethics Committee of the National Institute of Legal and Forensic Medicine.

International Associate of the Brazilian Institute of Civil Liability Studies; Fellow of ECTIL (European Centre on Tort and Insurance Law - Vienna, Austria); Chair of the Education Committee of the World Association for Medical Law.

Professor Associado, Faculdade de Direito, Universidade de Coimbra.

Vice-Presidente do Conselho Nacional de Ética para as Ciências da Vida Presidente da Direção do Centro de Direito Biomédico; Presidente da Comissão de Ética da AIBILI; Membro da Comissão de Ética do Instituto Nacional de Medicina legal e Ciências Forenses.

Associado Internacional do Instituto Brasileiro de Estudos de Responsabilidade Civil (IBERC); Fellow do ECTIL (European Centre on Tort and Insurance Law - Vienna, Austria), Chair do Comité de Educação da Associação Mundial de Direito Médico.

Luis Ravanal (Chile)

Forensic Physician and Expert in Legal Medicine and Forensics, Chile

Member, National Association of Medical Examiners

Executive Vice-President, Board of Governors, World Association for Medical Law

Chair, Social Committee, World Association for Medical Law

© World Association for Medical Law
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software